Saint Paul Mayor Melvin Carter has named Maureen Hartman as the next Director of the Saint Paul Public Library. Maureen joined the Library in 2017, serving as the Deputy Director for Public Services before being appointed Interim Director at the end of last year. During her time at the Library thus far, Hartman has led the work to eliminate late fines, an impactful policy change that has resulted in more equitable access to library resources and increased circulation of books and materials. She also led the work to adapt library services to the community during the pandemic and the return to full, in-person services in 2022.
Rotary Club #10 Saint Paul has sworn in its 114th club president along with a slate of new directors: President, Heidi Fisher, Hamline University; President-Elect, Shelly Rucks, Regions Hospital Foundation; Past-President: David Dominick, YMCA of the North; Treasurer: Bo Aylin, III, Prairieview Partners; Director Emeritus: Michael-jon Pease, St. Paul Parks Conservancy; Secretary: Aaron Gjerde, Verden Group, Ltd.; Sergeant at Arms:  Brianna Haglin, Kok Funeral Home. Board Members:  John Bennett, 21st Century Bank; Victoria Cammack, Villa Healthcare; Karin Ciano, Office of Lawyers Professional Responsibility; Bill Collins, Shoe Factor LLC; Steve Gerber, Northern Technologies; John Kupris, Twin Cities Public Television; Matt Magers, Minnesota Golf Foundation; Melissa Musliner, Metro State University; Susan Rostkoski, retired development officer; Andrew Vincelli, USB Financial Services. Check the club out online and join them for a meeting:
Lutheran Social Service of Minnesota recognized 85 honorees from across the organization with the prestigious 2023 Spirit Award at a luncheon celebration in St. Cloud, Minn. on Aug. 15, 2023. The honoree in the St. Paul Midway area is:  Terri Welch, Accounting Specialist, Partners in Community Supports (PICS). The award honors employees who demonstrate outstanding commitment and dedication to the vision and mission of the organization. Honorees are nominated by their supervisors. 
This summer, Como Park Senior High School students Miguel DeLeon Reyes, Sada Gobena, N Jackson, Mitch Pelzer, Melanie Vang, and Johavani Weni, along with Saint Agnes School students Violet Bratt, Joey Ellsworth, Felicity Mortland, Lucy Sands, and Isaac Sherf were sponsored to participate in a week-long summer business, career, and financial literacy camp, Minnesota Business Venture (MBV). Activities included guest keynote speakers, scavenger hunts, and mock interviews. The program is developed and organized by BestPrep.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here