Como Park Senior High School

New principal announced, JROTC scholarships top $1.5 million


JROTC cadet scholarships
Through a unique high school experience that included a year of distance learning beginning in the spring of their freshman year, and masking requirements for nearly a year upon return, Como’s Marine Corps JROTC cadets have achieved excellence.
Their academic, service and leadership accomplishments have been rewarded by an astounding amount of college scholarships – a collective $1,593,000.
The JROTC program at Como is an elective course that becomes a lifestyle for committed cadets in each grade level. Emphasis on personal development through patriotism, community service, and leadership leads to executing extra-curricular activities and life-changing events.
Como JROTC Instructor Sergeant Major James Kirkland, and Pat Dolan, Vice President of Communications for the Navy League of Minnesota, compiled and shared the following specific scholarships for the graduating class of 2023 cadets.
• Alex Le $250,000 (Air Force Academy Scholarship)
• Jesiah Mason $190,500 (Augsburg Full Tuition Scholarship, Olga B. Hart Scholarship, Wallin Scholarship)
• Cindy Thao $172,500 (Augsburg Full Tuition Scholarship)
• Gay Ler Htoo $246,500 (Augsburg Full Tuition Scholarship, Wallin Scholarship, Travelers Edge Scholarship, Ray Eva Hope Miller Scholarship)
• Chong Her $48,000 (Travelers Edge Scholarship)
• Ve Shar $193,000 (Minnesota National Guard Scholarship, Wallin Scholarship, Royal Merits Scholarship, Bethel Opportunities Scholarship)
• Sophia Moore $10,500 (North Star Marine Veteran Scholarship, Le Family Scholarship, CSP University Scholarship, CSP PSEO Scholarship, SPPACE Alexander Scholarship)
• Gwenivere Thao $1,500 (North Star Marine Veteran Scholarship, USMC Minnesota Coordinating Council Scholarship)
• Pah Meh $500 (USMC Major Foley (Ret) Foundation Scholarship)
• Dallas Beilke $80,000 (United States Navy Scholarship)
•Ju Hei $80,000 (Minnesota National Guard Scholarship)
• Paw Htoo $80,000 (Minnesota National Guard Scholarship)
• Ze Vang $80,000 (Minnesota National Guard Scholarship)
• Bae Reh $80,000 (Minnesota National Guard Scholarship)
• Sandar Htway $80,000 (Minnesota National Guard Scholarship)

Dr. Diana Brown named new principal
A leadership change at Como Park High School was announced in early May. After the candidate selection process and interviews by a committee of Como stakeholders, Dr. Diana Brown accepted the offer to become principal beginning this July.
Brown has served as an assistant principal at Como for the last two years, working alongside Dr. Kirk Morris who has been Como’s principal since 2020. Morris accepted the position of assistant superintendent on the St. Paul Public Schools (SPPS) leadership team and will start that new responsibility in July.
The transition for Como staff, students and families should be smooth as Brown and Morris will continue to work together this summer in preparation for the 2023-2024 school year.
Dr. Brown’s experience in SPPS is extensive going back to her time as a student in the district. She has served as a SPPS classroom teacher and in administrative roles for 11 years.
Dr. Brown’s academic credentials include a masters in teaching and education from St. Thomas University, a master’s in education at the College of St. Scholastica, and an educational leadership doctorate at Concordia University in St. Paul.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here